The tour of Château-Lambert
Old-fashioned way of life and natural heritage
An authentic mountain hamlet of Haut du Them Château Lambert, it is nestled 700m high and clustered around a wonderful chapel built in 1616. The Ognon river springs from this pleasant cirque full of heritage. Below the sanctuary, the Saint Antoine oratory marked the entrance of the copper and galena mines, operated between 1374 and 1768.
The Musée de la Montagne
At 700 meters of altitude, in the village of Château-Lambert, the Musée de la Montagne (Mountain Museum) is one of three departmental museums managed by the Département of Haute-Saône. In this Vosges du Sud region, it was founded in 1977 on the initiative of Albert Demard, to relate the story of this village community before the big changes brought by the first world war.
In an ancient farmstead, four rooms of the living quarters are recreated, with modest furnitures and rudimentary comfort, reminiscent of the long winter vigils around the cast-iron stove. The farming activities are also shown with the stables and the granary, in which are displayed various tools used in farming rye, buckwheat and potatoes, the staples of peasant food.
Outside the buildings, a trail along the steep hillside let visitors familiarise with foresting and woodwork. There are huts for the lumberjack, the charcoal burner and clog maker, a schlitte (sled) for carting down wood cut in stere, and a two-man saw.
The museum also presents the work in the mines, as the area has been extensively mined for copper, lead glance and molybdenum.
In April, May, June and September - 9:30 am - 12pm and 2 pm - 6 pm
In July and August - 9:30 am - 7 pm (Monday through Saturday) and 2 pm - 7 pm (Sunday)
From October to March - 2 pm - 5 pm
Closed on Tuesdays and Saturday mornings (except in July and August), and Sunday mornings.
Espace Nature Culture
This building houses the offices of the Maison de la Nature ('nature house') des Vosges du Sud, the Réserve Naturelle (natural reserve) des Ballons Comtois and the Parc naturel (natural park) régional des Ballons des Vosges.
Open year round with free entry, 250 m² are dedicated to welcome visitors. A permanent exhibition presents the natural and cultural riches of the Vosges du Sud. A shop and a reading corner for children complete the visit.
Closed in January 2019
From February 1st to April 14th - Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Sundays 2 pm - 5:30 pm
From April 15th to September 30th - Every day 10 am - 1 pm and 2 pm - 6 pm
In October and November - Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Sundays 2 pm - 5:30 pm
Closed in December 2019
Let's walk on the path of the old school
Come and discover the surroundings of Château-Lambert, its vantage points, along the hiking trail 'Sentier des écoliers'.
You can also stop at the Auberge des Sources to discover local specialties like the 'Jambon de Luxeuil' (smoked ham), fumé vosgien (meats), Comté cheese pie, munstiflette (Munster cheese tartiflette), blueberry pies and so on.